12 Years a Slave

After watching the movie, this will make absolute sense to you.
After watching the movie, this will make absolute sense to you.

With already a dark cloud looming over me, watching 12 Years a Slave tonight, most certainly hadn’t been the wisest of choices. I honestly don’t think I’ve seen a movie so hard-hitting, date-failing, makes-you-want-to-sob-like-the-little-girl-you-are-inside, in so very long. In fact, I don’t think I’ve EVER seen a movie much like that, before.

The history of the past, has always been synonymous with slavery. But the depth of it, and the severity of it, has sadly never been something I bothered about, or put my mind into. Until today, until tonight – until this movie.

The best part of it all? It’s a true story.

The story of Solomon Northup, the things that he was forced to face, the circumstance he was placed in, the fight for survival, the struggle to live…will do nothing, but shake you to the core. At one point when he says, “But I don’t want to survive. I want to LIVE.” All I wanted to do, was crumple up in a corner, and cry.

Because though at the end of it all, this man had finally found his freedom, though justice wasn’t given, there are still thousands out there, who are living through the same life, this man was forced to lived. In this time, in this age, slavery is still something that exists. Perhaps no longer in those terms, but fact still remains. A slave is what they’re treated as. That hadn’t been all. Watching through the sufferings they went through, simply reminded me of the condition Palestine and the Palestinians are in. It may not represent things in the literal way, but it had brilliantly symbolized the Palestinian plight. In other words, you could just imagine how much tissues I had to go through! It had gotten so bad, I had black smudged lines all over!

If you haven’t watched it, then please do. Because really, you need to. 

Note : Ladies, wear waterproof products ONLY, if you choose to watch this. And unless you’re ready to have your boyfriend, husband, etc. watch you cry, don’t take them with you.

If anyone knows of anyone in the cause of Human Trafficking, please do have us connected. I’ve been ignorant on this issue for far too long. It’s time for that to change.

P/S : If it hadn’t been for Brad Pitt in the movie, I would’ve probably smacked the first ‘White’ man I saw. Ha. Ha. Ha. 

Leave a Reply

