IMG_0214-0

Selamat Hari Malaysia!

I’ve been trying to recall a time in my life, where another’s race had ever been an issue – when it came to being friends, (and just about everything else!)

And guess what? I’ve absolutely failed. 
There hasn’t ever been a time where I had pondered or wondered if I should be friends with this person or the other, simply based on the color of their skin and the faith they believed. It had always been about who they were as a person, as people. Never about their line of ancestry. 

When I look at the people I call my neighbors, my best friends, my closest confidants – I don’t see them as Chinese, Indian, or Malay (or lain-lain!). I see them as people, as Malaysians, whom I love, appreciate and care tremendously about.


To the fellow future leaders of Malaysia,

I beg of you to never let those who try to break us apart, succeed. 

(I know things have gotten worse, so-much-so until I’m at the edge of renouncing my very own race – regardless of how impossible that is!)

But I ask of you, let us join hand in hand to fight against the racial segregation that has been forced upon us, either by the signs of dollars or make-belief thoughts of superiority. 

Let us not allow for them to win the war of making us turn against one another.

You are my brothers and sisters,

Regardless of our different faiths and ethnicity.

And I love and care for you as much, as I do my own blood (i.e. Family – NOT RACE!)

We are all Malaysians, with more things in common – then we could possibly believe.

Let us unite as such.

Let’s together work to end the injustice, and fight for our true freedom and equality.
After all, this is a struggle that they have no right to win.

And besides, how could we possibly let the world be left without a nation that manages to speak four languages in one sentence? I mean, COME ON! We can’t deprive the world of such a remarkable thing, now can we? 😉

Selamat Hari Malaysia, fellow Malaysians! ❤️

P/s: To those who continue to smear the name of Islam, and claim that they’re “Islamically racist”, let me just share with you this one beautiful piece that the Prophet (Peace and Blessings be upon him) had said in his last sermon: 

“All mankind is from Adam and Eve, an Arab has no superiority over a non-Arab nor a non-Arab has any superiority over an Arab; also a white has no superiority over black nor a black has any superiority over white except by piety and good action.”

Does that in any way tell you that your actions or beliefs are justified? If you had chosen to rally out of pure love for your country and the leader – why would the chants, and provocative banners be a necessity?

The only thing that differentiates us from one another, is by what lies in our hearts, and our actions. Not by the color of our skin.

Being racial is given, but being racist – isn’t.

Leave a Reply

